

# MTCS | Minnesota Transitions Charter School

**K-12 Academic Community** 

2872 26<sup>th</sup> Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55406 Dennis Carlson, Superintendent Keith Lester, Deputy Superintendent

Minnesota Transitions Charter School Minutes of Regular Board Meeting Thursday September 28th 2017 4:30 p.m. At Minnesota Transitions Charter School District Office 2872 26<sup>th</sup> Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55406

## 1. Call to Order

Becky Juntunen called the meeting to order at 4:32p.m.

Becky noted that the meeting is a Regular Board Meeting of the Minnesota Transitions Charter School (**"MTCS"**) Board of Directors. Becky noted that the meeting took place at Minnesota Transitions Charter School District Office located at 2872 26th Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55406.

## 2. Roll Call and Noting of Quorum

Becky Juntunen noted that as of the beginning of the meeting, the Board was made up of nine (9) Board Members. Becky noted the presence/non-presence of the following Board Members:

- Becky Juntunen Board Chair (present)
- Martin Lukaszewski Secretary/Treasurer (present)
- Tamara Schultz Vice Chair (present)
- Andrea Miller Teacher (present)
- Rand Retterath Community Member (present)
- Sheila McMahon Teacher (present)
- Hassan Hassan Parent (present)
- **Kirsten Krueger** Teacher (non-present)
- **Beth Ingberg** Community Member (present)

Becky noted that at the beginning of the Board meeting, the Board had nine (9) individuals currently holding the office of Director on the Board of Directors. Becky noted that, to establish a quorum, the Board must have a majority of those Board members – meaning more than half – in attendance. Therefore, a quorum of the Board as currently configured requires five (5) Board Members in attendance. Becky noted that, of the nine (9) Board Members currently on the Board, nine (8) were in attendance at the Board meeting. Becky noted the presence of a quorum.

The following individuals were also present for the meeting:

- Superintendent, Dennis Carlson
- Deputy Superintendent, Keith Lester
- Dustin Reeves with BKDA

#### 3. Approval of Agenda

Martin Lukaszewski made a motion to approve the agenda. The motion was seconded by Andrea Miller. No discussion occurred / Discussion followed. The motion passed 8-0 with votes in favor from Becky Juntunen, Tamara Schultz, Andrea Miller, Hassan Hassan, Rand Retterath, Sheila McMahon, Martin Lukaszewski and Beth Ingberg. No board members voted against the motion.

#### 4. Open Forum/Public Comment

Becky Juntunen noted that there was no open forum or public comment requests.

#### 5. Consent Agenda

Beth Ingberg made a motion to approve the Consent Agenda; including the approval of the most recent board minutes, human resources new hire and resignations, accounts payable, cleaning service contract and board term length resolution, also ratifying and confirming all actions taken during the September 28th, 2017 Board Meeting. The motion was seconded by Andrea Miller. There was no discussion/Discussion followed and no items were removed from the consent agenda. The motion passed 8-0 with votes in favor from Becky Juntunen, Tamara Schultz, Andrea Miller, Hassan Hassan, Rand Retterath, Sheila McMahon, Martin Lukaszewski and Beth Ingberg. No board members voted against the motion.

#### 6. Reports and Discussion

- **a.** Dustin Reeves reviewed the financial summary with the board.
- **b.** Dennis Carlson provided the Board of Directors with a one year review of the Superintendent report.

Keith Lester introduced the Public Ally hired for our District, who will be assisting with establishing partnerships. Keith also informed the board that the Equity Committee met for the first time. Keith announced that the new website platform was launched and encouraged board members to review.

c. There was no report from the board committees.

### 7. Action Items

**a.** Emily Edstrom with Pillsbury explained the audit review that MTCS will be going through and confirming the letter of intent to renew.

- 8. Information and Announcements
- **a.** The Board of Directors recognized Ann Uzendoski for the award presented for the WCCO Excellent Educator.
- **b.** Richard Ward, Britta Hagstrom, Matt Finnesgard, Andrea Miller and Rand Retterath introduced themselves to the board as nominees to the October 26<sup>th</sup>, 2017 board election.
- 9. Meeting was adjourned at 5:03