

Minnesota Transitions Charter School

Minutes of Regular Board Meeting
Thursday, August 30th, 2018
4:45 p.m.
At Minnesota Transitions Charter School District Office
2872 26th Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55406

1. Call to Order

Rebecca Juntunen called the meeting to order at 4:50p.m.

Rebecca noted that the meeting is a Regular Board Meeting of the Minnesota Transitions Charter School ("MTCS") Board of Directors. Rebecca noted that the meeting took place at Minnesota Transitions Charter School District Office located at 2872 26th Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55406.

2. Roll Call and Noting of Quorum

Rebecca Juntunen noted that as of the beginning of the meeting, the Board was made up of nine (9) Board Members. Rebecca noted the presence/non-presence of the following Board Members:

- Rebecca Juntunen Board Chair (present)
- Martin Lukaszewski Secretary/Treasurer (present)
- **Tamara Schultz** Vice Chair (not present)
- Andrea Miller Teacher (present)
- Aden Hussein Community Member (present)
- Sheila McMahon Teacher (present)
- Hassan Hassan Parent (present)
- **Kirsten Krueger** Teacher (present)
- **Britta Hagstrom** Teacher (present)

Rebecca noted that at the beginning of the Board meeting, the Board had nine (9) individuals currently holding the office of Director on the Board of Directors. Rebecca noted that, to establish a quorum, the Board must have a majority of those Board members – meaning more than half – in attendance. Therefore, a quorum of the Board as currently configured requires five (5) Board Members in attendance. Rebecca noted that, of the nine (9) Board Members currently on the Board, eight (8) were in attendance at the Board meeting. Rebecca noted the presence of a quorum.

The following individuals were also present for the meeting:

- Superintendent, Brian Erlandson
- Business Manager, Todd Netzke
- Minute Recorder, Tamlee Berndtson

3. Open Forum/Pubic Comment

It was noted by Rebecca Juntunen that there were no requests to speak.

4. Approval of Agenda

Andrea Miller made a motion to approve the agenda. The motion was seconded by Martin Lukaszewski. There was no discussion. The motion passed 8-0 with votes in favor from Becky Juntunen, Sheila McMahon, Kirsten Krueger, Britta Hagstrom, Hassan Hassan, Aden Hussein Martin Lukaszewski and Andrea Miller. No board members voted against the motion.

5. Consent Agenda

Martin Lukaszewski made a motion to approve the Consent Agenda including the approval of the July minutes, July finance committee minutes and accounts payable. The motion was seconded by Kirsten Krueger. The motion passed 8-0 with votes in favor from Becky Juntunen, Sheila McMahon, Kirsten Krueger, Britta Hagstrom, Hassan Hassan, Aden Hussein Martin Lukaszewski and Andrea Miller. No board members voted against the motion.

6. Reports and Discussion

- a. <u>Financial Report</u>: This report was given by Martin Lukaszewski. The Finance Committee had a meeting on Tuesday, August 28th, 2018 and recommends the approval of the July financial statements as presented.
- b. <u>Superintendent Report</u>: Brian Erlandson informed that he continues to work closely with SMS finance company to smooth out the 18/19 school budgets. Spoke on some future planning on the Banaadir South building. Brian was also enthusiastic on the relationships he building and support he is receiving from MDE.
- c. <u>Board Committees</u>: Nothing to report.



7. Action Items

a. Identified Official with Authority (IOWA)

Andrea Miller made a motion to approve the IOWA from Tami Schultz to Brian Erlandson the motion was seconded by Martin Lukaszewski. There was no discussion. The motion passed 8-0 with votes in favor from Becky Juntunen, Sheila McMahon, Kirsten Krueger, Britta Hagstrom, Hassan Hassan, Aden Hussein Martin Lukaszewski and Andrea Miller. No board members voted against the motion.

b. Policy for Purchase of Group Health Insurance Coverage

Martin Lukaszewski made a motion to approve the Policy for Purchase of Group Health Insurance Coverage. The motion was seconded by Andrea Miller. There was no discussion. The motion passed 8-0 with votes in favor from Becky Juntunen, Sheila McMahon, Kirsten Krueger, Britta Hagstrom, Hassan Hassan, Aden Hussein Martin Lukaszewski and Andrea Miller. No board members voted against the motion.

c. Time Clock System Approval

Britta Hagstrom made a motion to approve the time clock system. The motion was seconded by Andrea Miller. There was no discussion. The motion passed 8-0 with votes in favor from Becky Juntunen, Sheila McMahon, Kirsten Krueger, Britta Hagstrom, Hassan Hassan, Aden Hussein Martin Lukaszewski and Andrea Miller. No board members voted against the motion.

d. HR New Hire, Resignations and Terminations

Kirsten Krueger made a motion to approve the HR New Hire, Resignations and Terminations. The motion was seconded by Andrea Miller. There was no discussion. The motion passed 8-0 with votes in favor from Becky Juntunen, Sheila McMahon, Kirsten Krueger, Britta Hagstrom, Hassan Hassan, Aden Hussein Martin Lukaszewski and Andrea Miller. No board members voted against the motion.

8. Adjournment

Meeting was adjourned at 5:57pm