Family Links & Support

MTCS Social Workers & Family Liaisons

Adam Brosz
P.E.A.S.E. Academy Social Worker
abrosz@emailmtcs.org

Courtney Stenseth
MTCS Social Worker
cstenseth@emailmtcs.org

Wendy Lorenz-Walraven
Social Worker – Special Education
wlorenz-walraven@emailmtcs.org

Mara Mosenden
Social Worker
mmosfenden@emailmtcs.org

Sharmarke Elmi
Banaadir South – Family Liaison
selmi@emailmtcs.org

Renato Lombardi
Latino Family Liaison
rlombardi@emailmtcs.org

Mahad Mohamed
Banaadir North – Family Liaison
amohamed@emailmtcs.org

Santhi Sheehan
MN Virtual – Student Support A-K
ssheehan@emailmtcs.org

Kristi Thao
MN Virtual – Student Support L-Z
kthao@emailmtcs.org

Fowzie Mohamed
Banaadir Math & Science – Family Liaison
fowzia.mohamed@emailmtcs.org
Mary Wattley
MTS Secondary and Powell Leadership Academy
Family Liaison/Teen Parent Advocate
mwattley@emailmtcs.org

As school social workers, we are viewed as the link between the school, home and the community.

We are a part of the educational team to promote and support students academic and social success by providing services that may include:

  • Assessing student needs
  • Help manage mental health symptoms
  • Individual and group therapeutic services
  • Crisis intervention and prevention
  • Work with both general education and special education students
  • Advocating for students
  • Education and training for parents and staff
  • Information and collaboration with community resources
  • Knowledgeable about rights for our homeless students and families

School social workers help students to:

  • cope with difficult and crisis situations
  • develop self-esteem
  • learn problem solving, conflict resolution, and healthy decision making skills
  • have positive and healthy relationships