Due to the Declaration by Governor Walz regarding the continued operation of schools during the Covid-19 pandemic, the following changes are being made to Board Activities for the week of March 16, 2020:

The Regular Board Meeting of Thursday, March 19, 2020 will meet pursuant to Minnesota Statute 13D.021 via Zoom Conference Call. If you wish to attend, please register for this meeting at https://zoom.us/meeting/register/vJQsfuyrqjsjRyGBF7QHeeEkKzII2BBW0w. We will begin promptly at 4:45 pm.

Superintendent/Board Committees (Academic, Compensation, Marketing, and Technology) scheduled for Tuesday, March 17, 2020, are postponed till further notice.

The Finance Committee Meeting of Thursday, March 19, 2020, is cancelled.

We thank you for your understanding and flexibility at this time.

MTCS Board of Director Members

Board Member Seat Term Expires Email
Martin Lukaszewski Board Chair 2021 mlukaszewski@emailmtcs.org
Britta Hagstrom Vice Chair 2020 bhagstrom@emailmtcs.org
Renee Smetana Secretary/Treasurer 2020 renee.smetana@emailmtcs.org
Ismail Haji Licensed Teacher 2022 ihaji@emailmtcs.org
Wendy Lorenz-Walraven Licensed Teacher 2022 wlorenz-walraven@emailmtcs.org
Kelly Nyberg Licensed Teacher 2020 kgrant@emailmtcs.org
Jacob Hinz Licensed Teacher 2022 jhinz@emailmtcs.org
Julie Starkey Parent 2021 jstarkey@emailmtcs.org
Gwen Jackson Community Member 2021 gjackson@emailmtcs.org

Board of Directors

Minnesota Transitions Charter School is a 501(C)(3) nonprofit organization whose core purpose is to empower each student and ensure that all students acquire the skills and knowledge necessary to experience success in their future. The MTCS Board of Directors is composed of community members and licensed teachers who meet monthly.

Board Meeting Dates & Location

Board Meeting Location
MTCS Main Office (Board Room)
2872 26th Avenue South
Door B
Minneapolis, MN 55406

Board Meeting Schedule
Board meetings are generally held every fourth Thursday of the month, beginning at 4:45 pm. Dates and times are subject to change pending holidays or upon the Board of Directors’ request.

  • December 19, 2019
  • January 23, 2020
  • February 20, 2020
  • March 19, 2020
  • April 16, 2020
  • May 28, 2020
  • June 25, 2020
  • July 23, 2020
  • August 27, 2020
  • September 24, 2020
  • October 22 (Annual Meeting), 2020

Board Meeting Minutes