MTCS Board of Director Members

Board Member Seat Term Expires Email
Martin Lukaszewski Board Chair 2021 mlukaszewski@emailmtcs.org
Britta Hagstrom Vice Chair 2020 bhagstrom@emailmtcs.org
Renee Smetana Secretary/Treasurer 2020 renee.smetana@emailmtcs.org
Sheila McMahon Licensed Teacher 2019 smcmahon@emailmtcs.org
Wendy Lorenz-Walraven Licensed Teacher 2019 wlorenz-walraven@emailmtcs.org
Kelly Nyberg Licensed Teacher 2020 kgrant@emailmtcs.org
Vacant Licensed Teacher 2019
Julie Starkey Parent 2021 jstarkey@emailmtcs.org
Gwen Jackson Community Member 2021 gjackson@emailmtcs.org

Board of Directors

Minnesota Transitions Charter School is a 501(C)(3) nonprofit organization whose core purpose is to empower each student and ensure that all students acquire the skills and knowledge necessary to experience success in their future. The MTCS Board of Directors is composed of community members and licensed teachers who meet monthly.

Board Meeting Dates & Location

Board Meeting Location
MTCS Main Office (Board Room)
2872 26th Avenue South
Door B
Minneapolis, MN 55406

Board Meeting Schedule
Board meetings are generally held every fourth Thursday of the month, beginning at 4:45 pm. Dates and times are subject to change pending holidays or upon the Board of Directors’ request.

  • July 25, 2019
  • August 15, 2019
  • September 26, 2019
  • October 24, 2019
  • November 21, 2019
  • December 19, 2019
  • January 23, 2020
  • February 20, 2020
  • March 12, 2020
  • April 23, 2020
  • May 21, 2020
  • June 25, 2020

Board Meeting Minutes

MTCS Finance Committee

Finance Meeting Location
MTCS Main Office
2872 26th Avenue South
Door B
Minneapolis, MN 55406

Finance Meeting Schedule
The Finance Committee of the MTCS Board of Directors meets at 5 pm on the Tuesday prior to the scheduled board meeting.

Finance Meeting Minutes

  • August 15, 2019: Agenda | Minutes
  • July 25, 2019: Agenda | Minutes

Pursuant to Article IV, Section 6 of the Bylaws of the Minnesota Transitions Charter School (“MTCS”), the Minnesota Nonprofit Corporations Act, Minn. Stat. § 317A.231, and the Minnesota Open Meetings Law, Minn. Stat. § 13D.04, subd. 1, notice is hereby given of the following Finance Committee Meeting of the MTCS Board of Directors, which will take place on the above date, at the above time, at the above location.