DUE TO THE DECLARATION BY GOVERNOR WALZ OF EXECUTIVE ORDER 20-02 AND TO REMAIN IN EFFECT BY EXECUTIVE ORDER 20-33, PURSUANT TO MINNESOTA STATUTE 13D.021, AND THE CURRENT STATE OF EMERGENCY IN MINNESOTA DUE TO THE COVID-19 PANDEMIC, THE BOARD CHAIR AND CHIEF LEGAL COUNSEL FOR MTCS HAVE DETERMINED THAT IT IS NOT PRUDENT TO CONDUCT AN IN-PERSON MEETING OF THE SCHOOL BOARD, NOR IS IT FEASIBLE TO ALLOW ANY MEMBER OF THE PUBLIC TO BE PRESENT AT THE REGULAR MEETING LOCATION IN ORDER TO ATTEND THE MEETING.  ALL MEMBERS WILL PARTICIPATE BY ELECTRONIC MEANS. THE REGULAR BOARD MEETING OF THURSDAY, MAY 28th, 2020, AT 4:45PM WILL MEET VIA ZOOM CONFERENCE CALL, AND MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC WHO WISH TO ATTEND THE MEETING BY DO SO BY REGISTERING AT THE WEBSITE BELOW:

Please register for this meeting at 

https://zoom.us/meeting/register/tJIrdu6pqj8uEtHflI8cWjOrKaVyF2bOHreT

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the meeting.

MTCS Board of Director Members

Board Member Seat Term Expires Email
Martin Lukaszewski Board Chair 2021 mlukaszewski@emailmtcs.org
Britta Hagstrom Vice Chair 2020 bhagstrom@emailmtcs.org
Renee Smetana Secretary/Treasurer 2020 renee.smetana@emailmtcs.org
Ismail Haji Licensed Teacher 2022 ihaji@emailmtcs.org
Wendy Lorenz-Walraven Licensed Teacher 2022 wlorenz-walraven@emailmtcs.org
Kelly Nyberg Licensed Teacher 2020 kgrant@emailmtcs.org
Jacob Hinz Licensed Teacher 2022 jhinz@emailmtcs.org
Julie Starkey Parent 2021 jstarkey@emailmtcs.org
Gwen Jackson Community Member 2021 gjackson@emailmtcs.org

Board of Directors

Minnesota Transitions Charter School is a 501(C)(3) nonprofit organization whose core purpose is to empower each student and ensure that all students acquire the skills and knowledge necessary to experience success in their future. The MTCS Board of Directors is composed of community members and licensed teachers who meet monthly.

Board Meeting Dates & Location

Board Meeting Location
MTCS Main Office (Board Room)
2872 26th Avenue South
Door B
Minneapolis, MN 55406

Board Meeting Schedule
Board meetings are generally held every fourth Thursday of the month, beginning at 4:45 pm. Dates and times are subject to change pending holidays or upon the Board of Directors’ request.

  • December 19, 2019
  • January 23, 2020
  • February 20, 2020
  • March 19, 2020
  • April 16, 2020
  • May 28, 2020
  • June 25, 2020
  • July 23, 2020
  • August 27, 2020
  • September 24, 2020
  • October 22 (Annual Meeting), 2020

Board Meeting Minutes