Family Links & Support

As school social workers, we are viewed as the link between the school, home and the community.

MTCS Social Workers & Family Liaisons

Courtney Stenseth
MTCS Social Worker
cstenseth@emailmtcs.org
Wendy Lorenz-Walraven
Social Worker
wlorenz-walraven@emailmtcs.org
Adam Brosz
P.E.A.S.E. Academy Social Worker
abrosz@emailmtcs.org
612-524-5272
Fowzie Mohamed
Banaadir Math & Science – Family Liaison
fowzia.mohamed@emailmtcs.org
Sharmarke Elmi
Banaadir South – Family Liaison
selmi@emailmtcs.org
Mahad Mohamed
Banaadir North – Family Liaison
amohamed@emailmtcs.org
Mary Wattley
MTS Secondary & Powell Academy
Family Liaison/Teen Parent Advocate
mwattley@emailmtcs.org
Santhi Sheehan
MN Virtual – Student Support A-K
ssheehan@emailmtcs.org
Kristi Thao
MN Virtual – Student Support L-Z
kthao@emailmtcs.org

We are a part of the educational team to promote and support students academic and social success by providing services that may include:

  • Assessing student needs

  • Help manage mental health symptoms

  • Individual and group therapeutic services

  • Crisis intervention and prevention

  • Work with both general education and special education students
  • Advocating for students
  • Education and training for parents and staff
  • Information and collaboration with community resources

  • Knowledgeable about rights for our homeless students and families

School social workers help students to:

  • Cope with difficult and crisis situations

  • Develop self-esteem

  • Learn problem solving, conflict resolution, and healthy decision making skills

  • Have positive and healthy relationships

In order to eliminate barriers to our students and families, the Stephan Graham Resource Center was created in memory of the late Stephan Graham. This is a space that has clothing, hygiene products, household items, coats, blankets, food, backpacks, shoes, boots, and baby supplies available for our students and families. If you are in need of any of these items, please contact Courtney.

Questions, please contact Courtney Stenseth @ cstenseth@emailmtcs.org or 612-235-5780